NOMINATIONS AND APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES FOR 2023/24

REPORT OF: DIRECTOR OF RESOURCES AND ORGANISATIONAL

DEVELOPMENT

Contact Officer: Kevin Toogood, Assistant Director of Legal and Democratic Services

(and Monitoring Officer)

Email: kevin.toogood@midsussex.gov.uk Tel: 01444 477050

Wards Affected: None
Key Decision: Yes / No

Report to: Annual Council

24 May 2023

Purpose of Report

1. The purpose of this report is to provide information about nominations for Committees for the municipal year 2023/24

Recommendations

- 2. Council is recommended to:
 - (i) Approve the appointments to Committees as referred to at paragraph 4 of the report.

Background

3. This section is an important part of the report. It should set out the circumstances, which have led to the report being produced.

Membership of Committees - 2023/24

4. The appointments to Committees for the 2023/24 year are as follows:

Key

- (LD) Liberal Democrat
- (C) Conservative
- (IND) Independent
- (GRN) Green Party
- (NG) Non-Group (Independent)
- (L) Labour

Audit Committee - 7 Members

(LD)	Simon Hicks	(C)	Lorraine Carvalho
(LD)	Richard Bates	(C)	John Belsey
(LD)	Christine Cherry	(C)	Rod Clarke
(GRN)	Matthew Cornish		

Licensing Committee – 15 Members

(LD)	Janice Henwood	(C)	Gary Marsh	
(LD)	Christine Cherry	(C)	Jim Knight	

(LD)	Mike Kennedy	(C)	John Dabell
(LD)	Cavan Wood	(C)	Mustak Miah
(LD)	Anthony Platts	(C)	Lee Farren
(LD)	Kristian Berggreen	(L)	Paul Kenny
(GRN)	Anne Eves	(NG)	Peter Chapman
(IND)	Julie Mockford		

Scrutiny Committee for People and Communities – 11 Members

(LD)	Sue Hatton	(C)	Rod Clarke
(LD)	David Eggleton	(C)	Jim Knight
(LD)	Paul Lucraft	(C)	Sandy Ellis
(LD)	Abdul Bashar	(C)	Jacquie Russell
(LD)	Duncan Pascoe	(IND)	Julie Mockford
(GRN)	Paul Brown		

Scrutiny Committee for Place and Environment – 11 Members

(LD)	Janice Henwood	(C)	Malcolm Avery
(LD)	Richard Bates	(C)	John Belsey
(LD)	Tofojjul Hussain	(C)	Adam Peacock
(LD)	Alison Rees	(C)	Geoff Zeidler
(LD)	Kristian Berggreen	(IND)	John Hitchcock
(GRN)	Jenny Edwards		

District Planning Committee – 12 Members

(LD)	Rodney Jackson	(C)	Dick Sweatman
(LD)	Richard Bates	(C)	Rex Whittaker
(LD)	Cavan Wood	(C)	Eric Prescott
(LD)	Mike Kennedy	(C)	Malcolm Avery
(LD)	Kristian Berggreen	(C)	Adam Peacock
(GRN)	Anne Eves	(IND)	Christopher Phillips

Planning Committee – 12 Members

(LD)	Mike Kennedy	(C)	Gary Marsh
(LD)	Christine Cherry	(C)	Graham Casella
(LD)	Tofojjul Hussain	(C)	Dick Sweatman
(LD)	Janice Henwood	(C)	John Dabell
(LD)	Abdul Bashar	(IND)	John Hitchcock
(GRN)	Paul Brown	(L)	Paul Kenny

Standards Committee – 6 MSDC Members

(LD)	Mike Kennedy	(C)	Margaret Belsey
(LD)	Cavan Wood	(C)	Jacquie Russell
(GRN)	Matthew Cornish	(IND)	Christopher Phillips

Financial Implications

5. None.

Risk Management Implications

6. None.

Equality and Customer Service Implications

7. None.

Other Material Implications

8. None.

Sustainability Implications

9. None.

Background Papers

None.

This page is intentionally left blank